Marriage License FAQ's

239-823-4878


 

The Fee for a Florida Marriage License is $86.00



Click Here to Find a Florida Court House in the County Where you Live or are Staying

Non-Florida residents (both U.S. & International) do not have a waiting period. 
Florida residents, the bride and the groom, must apply in person. 
Non-Florida residents have the option of applying in person or by mail.​

Both, the bride-to-be and the husband-to-be,

need to be present when applying for a marriage license, no exceptions.


If you are NOT a resident of the State of Florida,

you may apply for your Marriage License By Mail. 

Please Contact me, as I do offer this service for anyone who is not a Florida resident


Ft Myers Clerk Of Court Offices are located at the County Administration Building,
2115 Second Street, 2nd Floor, Fort Myers, FL. 


The Lee County Clerk of Courts Recording Office is open from
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Florida has no waiting period if the following criteria is met:
- Both Bride and Groom have attended a 4 hour pre-marital course and produce the certificate at the time of application.
· Both Bride and Groom are non-Florida residents. Otherwise residents of the State Of Florida have a 3 day waiting period.


AGE:

You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license on your own behalf. If you are 16 or 17 years of age,

you can acquire a license with a signed and notarized “Certificate of Consent” form signed by your

parents or legal guardians and a certified long form Birth Certificate.


PROPER IDENTIFICATION:

One of the following forms of identification is required for each party applying for a marriage license:
both parties must apply in person. You are required to complete the Marriage License Application form in the Lee County Clerk’s Office or you can obtain an application form on-line at Lee County Clerk Of Courts Both parties are required to submit their Social Security Number. If previously married, the date of divorce, death, or annulment is required.


APPLICATION FEE:

The standard fee for a marriage license is $93.50 (cash only). The reduced fee for applicants (Florida
Residents only) who have completed a four-hour marriage course is $61.00. The fee must be paid in cash.


WAITING PERIOD:

The State of Florida requires that Florida Residents wait three calendar days from the date the license is
issued before it can be used. This requirement does not apply to applicants if both parties are not Florida Residents.


PREMARITAL PREPARATION COURSE:

Florida Residents can have the 3 day waiting period ‘waived’ by attending a four-hour premarital preparation course prior to the issuance of the license. In order to waive the 3 day waiting period, your premarital preparation course provider must be registered with the Lee County Clerk’s Office. The Lee County Clerk’s Office can provide a list of premarital preparation course providers upon request; the list is also located on our website” Lee County Clerk Of Courts

Attendance of the course reduces the fee for the marriage license application ($61.00-cash only). You must provide proof of
course attendance upon applying for the license. The Lee County Clerk’s Office does not provide the premarital preparation course.


MARRIAGE CEREMONY:

Marriage ceremonies may be performed by the following per Florida Statute 741.07:

- A Notary Public in and for The State of Florida

- A regularly ordained minister or other ordained clergy;

- Elders in communion with some church;

- All judicial officers (judges) Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies,  In addition, the law provides that marriages may be performed among “Quakers” or “Friends,” in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.